Adventures in Triathlon

Multisport as art and science

Looking ahead to my 2011 Season

with one comment

Here’s to a new season in my Triathlon Adventure!  This year I enter a new age group (35-39), which incidentally tends to be one of the most competitive.

This is the first year that I am starting off by looking ahead to a “my season.”  I did four triathlons last year and a ten miler, but I didn’t start the year with “my season” in mind.  I also started the year having really to start putting my fitness back into the forefront of my life, having largely let it slide because of other things going on in my life.  I’m not saying that this year I kept my training going as well as I would have liked after my last event, but I never stopped for working out for more than a week (ok, maybe two).

My season includes some repeat races and some new ones, including the very exciting (and scary) Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon in June.  I still have to fill in some holes in the plan, but I kick off the season with the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler.  I hope to follow that with the Bethesda Mini Triathlon as a quick refresher of the whole swim, bike, run thing.  The race still hasn’t been officially announced this year, though, so I’m not sure it will happen in April as it did last year.  In May I am repeating the Columbia Triathlon.  If my training goes well I should blow away my time from last year, considering the lousy circumstances under which I raced.  I hadn’t been on a bike since the previous November, I hadn’t been in the water since the previous September, and my runs (aside from Cherry Blossom) had been short (3-ish miles) and flat.  Not good preparation for a hilly Olympic distance tri.  The Columbia Triathlon this year will actually be my final training push before Alcatraz, since it comes just a couple of weeks before the Escape on June 5.  I will have to be careful not to overdo Columbia!  I don’t have anything planned for the summer until late August when I will participate in my third straight Iron Girl Columbia.  The all-women event is a fun, feel good race that I have really enjoyed both years.  I am skipping The Nation’s Triathlon in September this year because the headache of racing in downtown DC just doesn’t seem all that worth it.  Instead, I am planning to try something I haven’t ever done before: a small venue race.  Last year my dad did a small triathlon in Warrenton, Virginia and we are both planning to do the race this year.  I’m not too excited about a pool swim, but it was such a low key, friendly event last year I think it will be lots of fun.  It’s also just great to do an event with my dad!

I’ll be tracking my training, trials, tribulations, and triumphs on this site. I have some personal goals for 2011.

1. I want to beat my IronGirl Columbia time.

2. I want to finish Alcatraz with my head held high and my pride intact (I don’t think it’s prudent to have much more intense goals than that for Alcatraz!).

3. I would love to qualify for Age Group Nationals. This will depend on how well I place in my age group, though, and seeing as I am in a new age group this year I am not sure.  It’s a goal, but not fully under my control.

4. I want to get my running splits down. Last year I was hoping to get to an 8:30/mile pace in races, but I didn’t quite make it.  I need some more speed work and hill training, but most of all, I need to get in some bricks!

5. I want to do a better job of planning and executing my training.  It was very much ad-hoc last year.  My results, especially later in the season, were not bad considering that, but I think I could actually race pretty well if I could get myself to train properly.

6. I want to get my eating really under control.  I found Heidi Swift’s recent post about weight loss inspiring!  I’m fine right now.  I’m good.  But I’m not great!  I imagine how fantastic it would be riding up the hills *without* an extra toddler (as she puts her 23 pound weight loss).

If I’m going to be serious about 1-4, then 5 and 6 are imperative.  Bring it on 2011!

Written by lieberwoman

January 25, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] January I when I started this blog I laid out some goals for 2011. I think it’s time to reflect on those goals and put forth some new 2012 [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

